Here Are the New Laws Taking Effect in Michigan in 2024
There are a handful of new laws going into effect in the new year. Some, like the new minimum wage, will take hold on January 1.
At the front of the pack is a new minimum wage which will raise our state's minimum hourly pay rate by almost a quarter. That, by the way, is the only law that goes into effect on January 1. The others will take effect 90 days after the legislature ends on February 13, 2024.
New Laws Going Into Effect in Michigan in 2024
Michigan's Minimum Wage is Going Up
The state's minimum wage will increase from $10.10 per hour to $10.33. The hourly rate for tipped workers will increase from $3.84 to $3.93.
Michigan's Prevailing Wage Act
Michigan's Prevailing Wage Act (repealed in 2018) will be restored, meaning that contractors hired by the state of Michigan will be required to pay their employees union wages.
Michigan Will No Longer be a 'Right to Work' State
Michigan became a 'Right to Work' state in 2012, and after more than a decade, that legislation is being repealed.
This means that workers in unionized workplaces will no longer be able to opt out of paying union dues. Experts believe that this move will strengthen unions in Michigan, therefore protecting more workers' rights and giving unionized workers more job security.
Three Michigan Gun Laws
Gun owners will be required to lock their weapons up under Michigan's new Safe Storage Law.
Anyone purchasing a firearm at a gun show or through a private sale will need to pass a background check.
Michigan's Red Flag law is intended to disarm those with a propensity for violence who may have mental health problems or a history of threatening others.
Elliot-Larsen Act Expansion
The expansion of the Elliot-Larsen Act will provide protection for members of the LGBTQ+ community from discrimination based on sexual orientation or identity. This act will provide protection when it comes to employment, housing, education, and access to accommodation.
Michigan Teen Pre-Registration
This new law will allow 16-year-old students to pre-register to vote to be ready to cast their ballots once they turn 18.
Third-Grad Reading Law Repealed
Under Michigan's 2016 Third-Grade Reading Law, schools were required to hold students back if they were deemed more than one year behind in reading and writing development.
Under the new law, schools will not be required to hold students back but will provide parents with intervention options.
Bold Energy Plan
In 2024, the Michigan Public Service Commission will begin planning large-scale solar power projects in an effort to meet the 2040 deadline for our state to produce all of its energy from clean sources.
$6.5M Masterpiece: Most Expensive Home for Sale in Genesee County
Gallery Credit: Zillow :Chyna Slade at Real Estate One Clarkston
Best Restaurant Breads around Flint and Genesee County Michigan
Gallery Credit: Nate Reed
See Michigan's Only 2-Story Target Store
Gallery Credit: Nate Reed