The Mostly-Ghost Town of McGregor in the Michigan Thumb
McGregor can be found in Michigan’s thumb, on the upper west side of Sanilac County in Bridgehampton Township.
The first settler was Adam McGregor in 1859, who had no problem naming the area after himself. The town of McGregor was both a postal stop and railway station on the Flint & Pere Marquette Railroad.
Among the businesses that sprouted were the Allen Hotel, the McGregor Brothers Store, the McGregor Railroad Depot, and a few other establishments. James Powers, who ran another local store, became McGregor’s first postmaster when the post office opened in September 1894. It shut down for good in April 1958.
These days, the stores are all gone but the Methodist Church and some old shop buildings remain. One cool old storefront still stands in the old downtown area.
McGregor makes an interesting side-step on your Michigan roadtrip, so take a few minutes to make a drive-thru and get a few photos.
MORE TO EXPLORE: Michigan Ice Caves
MORE: Some Fun Photos From Michigan's Past
MORE: General George A. Custer Historic Sites
MORE TO EXPLORE: Michigan's Grand Canyon