Legalized Marijuana in Michigan: What You Need To Know
Prop 1 passed yesterday, 56% to 44%, which means that adults over 21 will be able to purchase and use pot legally - here are the details.
When does the law take effect?
Essentially, about a month. The state constitution says that approved initiatives take effect 10 days after the official declaration of the vote - meaning that once the state certifies the election results, the 10-day clock starts.
Who can smoke and where?
Just like alcohol, you will need to be at least 21-years-old to purchase or ingest cannabis. No, you cannot smoke in public or drive under the influence - same as alcohol. The law will allow you to carry 2.5 oz in public and 10 oz at home. If you have a green thumb, you can grow up to 12 plants, as long as they're not visible to the public.
Where can I buy?
While personal possession and growing your own will be legal ASAP, the actual retail shops will probably take around 2 years to get licensed by LARA. Medical dispensaries are still open under the MMMP, so if you have a card, you're fine. Just don't expect to walk into a shop later today and pick up a joint without a card.
What about the legalities nationwide?
Even though Michigan has become the 10th state in the nation to legalize, the federal government still considers marijuana a schedule 1 drug, which means it's complicated for business owners because of bank regulations and federal tax implications.
What about drug testing at my job?
Some industries, such as federal contractors, will be required by the federal government to test for marijuana, but otherwise, it's up to individual companies. So remember - even though marijuana will soon be legal, employers don't need a reason to fire you in Michigan. It's an at-will state.